Piirpauke is a Finnish musical group combining folk music, world music, jazz and progressive rock. It was founded in 1974 by the singer-saxophonist Sakari Kukko, who is the only original member left in the band today. In addition to large number of Finnish musicians, several musicians from various countries have also played in Piirpauke.

The band has released 19 studio albums as well as several live and compilation albums. In October 2010 their album Koli peaked number one at the World Music Charts Europe. Piirpauke's best known song is Konevitsan kirkonkellot (The Church Bells of Konevets), based on a traditional Karelian melody. It is named after the Konevsky Monastery in the Konevets island of Lake Ladoga. The song was covered by heavy metal band Sentenced in their 2002 album The Cold White Light.

Current Band Members:

  • Sakari Kukko - winds, piano, keyboards, vocals
  • Eerik Siikasaari – bass
  • Rami Eskelinen – drums
  • Ismaila Sané – percussion, vocals
  • Petri Kautto – guitar



Book Piirpauke